

Minnesota State University Moorhead

RED: a Repository of Digital Collections

Academic Policy Advisory Committee

University Archives

1-19-1993

Academic Policy Advisory Committee meeting minutes, January 19, 1993

Moorhead State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://red.mnstate.edu/apac

Researchers wishing to request an accessible version of this PDF may complete this form.

Recommended Citation

Moorhead State University, "Academic Policy Advisory Committee meeting minutes, January 19, 1993" (1993). *Academic Policy Advisory Committee*. 179. https://red.mnstate.edu/apac/179

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Archives at RED: a Repository of Digital Collections. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Policy Advisory Committee by an authorized administrator of RED: a Repository of Digital Collections. For more information, please contact RED@mnstate.edu.

APAC Minutes January 19, 1993

Present: R. Barden, Chair; E. Alberts, R. Badal, C. Bense, M. Class, R. DuBord, J. Engels, S. Ferris, T. Gracyk, R. McGahey, Molly Moore, D. Nelson, D. Olday, L. Papenfuss, T. Peil, R. Pratt, I. Tiedt, J. Walker

Mgmt 441(g)

Alberts moved, Walker seconded, to approve Mgmt 441(g), Labor Relations (4). Motion carried unanimously.

External Studies Packaged Courses

Walker moved, Alberts seconded, to approve the proposal to implement a one calendar year deadline for completion of External Studies Packaged Courses. Motion carried unanimously.

Liberal Studies

Gracyk moved, McGahey seconded, to approve the following recommendation from the Liberal Studies Committee: No Liberal Studies course from a student's primary major department may be used for Liberal Studies. (Students whose primary major department is mathematics shall complete 12 credits in Division E [Communication and Symbolic Processes] other than E1.) Courses from any student's second major, or minor, or "related fields" requirements may be freely applied. Motion carried unanimously.

H.S. Preparation Standards

The following were appointed to a subcommittee to prepare a proposal on how MSU should respond to students who have not met the high school geography admissions requirement: Dean Strong, Paul Beare, John Engels, David Olday, and Roger Richman.

The following were appointed to a subcommittee to prepare a proposal on how MSU should respond to students who have not met the high school language admissions requirement: Dean Badal, Cheri Brown, John Engels, John Hall, Robert McGahey, and Tim Peil.

S. Ferris